NORMAN — University of Oklahoma wide receiver Lee Morris has been named one of 10 semifinalists for the Burlsworth Trophy, honoring the most outstanding football player in America who began his career as a walk-on.

Morris, a redshirt junior from Allen, Texas, ranks 13th nationally and fourth in the Big 12 with eight touchdown receptions this season. Known among teammates as “TD Lee,” Morris has 18 career receptions, 10 of which have gone for touchdowns. This season he has turned 16 receptions into eight TDs, and averages 22.1 yards per catch for the Sooners, totaling 353 receiving yards.

Saturday at Texas Tech, Morris turned in a career game, catching four passes for a personal-best 101 yards and two touchdowns. It was his third game this season with two touchdown receptions.

The top three Burlsworth Trophy finalists will be announced on Tuesday, Nov. 13. Finalists will be honored and the winner of the 2018 winner will be announced Monday, Dec. 3.

Former OU quarterback Baker Mayfield won the award in 2015 and 2016 before he won the 2017 Heisman Trophy and became the No. 1 pick in the 2018 NFL Draft.

The trophy is named in honor of Brandon Burlsworth. Without one Division I scholarship offer, Burlsworth walked on to the Arkansas team in 1994, worked his way to being a three-year starter and was eventually named an All-American in 1998. Burlsworth was selected as the 63rd overall pick by the Indianapolis Colts in the 1999 NFL Draft, but was tragically killed in a car accident 11 days later. The Burlsworth Foundation was created in his memory and supports the physical and spiritual needs of children, in particular those children who have limited opportunities.

Patrick Laird, RB, California
Hunter Renfrow, WR, Clemson
Kenny Willekes, DE, Michigan State
Blake Cashman, LB, Minnesota
Cole Holcomb, LB, North Carolina
Lee Morris, WR, Oklahoma
Taylor Cornelius, QB, Oklahoma State
Quin Ficklin, C, Utah State
Ryan Connelly, LB, Wisconsin
Marcus Epps, S, Wyoming


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here